“Economic Marginalisation, Social Exclusion and Public Participation”

2nd Durban International Conference on Public Participation

Durban ICC, 45 Bram Fischer Rd, Durban, 4001

Register
  • days
  • Hours
  • Minutes
  • Seconds

CALL FOR PAPERS

“Economic Marginalisation, Social Exclusion and Public Participation”

In both the political north and the political south, with increasing global inequality, there is evidence of growing economic marginalisation and social exclusion, and growing disaffection with the formal structures of government. In South Africa, efforts have been undertaken to challenge the marginalisation and exclusion of the majority since the advent of democracy 24 years ago. These attempts include wider and more meaningful Public Participation. This is a constitutional imperative in South Africa that is intended to draw communities into direct engagement with policy and decision-making. The process of putting this into practice has not been without its challenges and contradictions. However, Public Participation remains a key means available in representative democracies to address economic marginalisation and social exclusion and to facilitate conversations with citizens. Given the contextualisation above, the 2nd Durban International Conference on Public Participation (ICPP 2) will have the theme “Economic Marginalisation, Social Exclusion and Public Participation”.

Its aims will be as follows: To understand the nature of the challenge governments in ‘developed’ and ‘developing’ countries face in addressing economic marginalisation and social exclusion To identify which groups in societies are marginalised and why To analyse the potential of Public Participation as a vehicle for change To identify what is needed for Public Participation to achieve this potential. Scholars, government officials, non-government organisations and citizens are invited to submit papers for presentation at the Conference. Proposals for 20 minute presentations should explain the relationship of the paper to the conference theme and specify one or more aims. Abstracts of no more than 300 words, your photograph and your 200 word resume should be submitted by 27th February, 2019. Please submit your abstract, resume and photograph as an email attachment to Crispin Hemson icon1@dut.ac.za and Dasarath Chetty chettytd@gmail.com . The conference committee will review all proposals, with accepted papers receiving notification by 28th February, 2019.

Professor Dasarath Chetty - Conference Chair

Conference Programme

17 Jun, 2019

1PM - 5PM

Registration

5PM - 7PM

Reception for Speakers

18 Jun, 2019

9AM - 5PM

Plenary Sessions

19 Jun, 2019

9AM - 5PM

Parallel Sessions

Abstracts Accepted & Sessions

Following are the abstracts that have been accepted and sessions for the conference. Click the buttons below to view.

VIEW ABSTRACTS VIEW SESSIONS

Local Organising Committee

# Title Name Email
1 Professor Dasarath Chetty chettytd@gmail.com
2 Dr Colin Thakur thakur@dut.ac.za
3 Mr Crispin Hemson icon1@dut.ac.za
4 Professor Malcolm Wallis malcolm.wallis45@gmail.com
5 Dr Kudakwashe Shoniwa KudakwasheS@dut.ac.za
6 Ms Sibongile Hlatshwayo sibongileN1@dut.ac.za
7 Ms Anelitha Njili anelitanjili@gmail.com
8 Mr Moonsamy Pillay pillayml@dut.ac.za
9 Father Smangaliso Mkhatshwa smangalisom@vodamail.co.za
10 Mr Sipho Cele Sipho.Cele@durban.gov.za
11 Dr Mpilo Ngubane mpilo.ngubane@durban.gov.za
12 Ms Puleng Monatisa puleng.monatisa@durban.gov.za
13 Ms Hlengiwe Magubane Hlengiwe.Magubane@durban.gov.za
14 Mr Zimele Cele Zimele.Cele@durban.gov.za
15 Mr Collin Pillay3 Collin.Pillay3@durban.gov.za
16 Ms Nomfundo Phetha Nomfundo.Phetha@durban.gov.za
17 Mr Martin Xaba Martin.Xaba@durban.gov.za
18 Dr Ajiv Maharaj Ajiv.Maharaj@durban.gov.za
19 Mr Sharm Maharaj Sharm.Maharaj@durban.gov.za
20 Mr Dynesan Reddy dynesan@gmail.com
21 Dr Khalida Akbar khalida.akbar@gmail.com
22 Dr Sakhile Zondi Zondisa@ukzn.ac.za
23 Dr Sheetal Bhoola bhoolas@ukzn.ac.za
24 Dr Ndwakhulu Tshishonga tshishonga@ukzn.ac.za

Directions to the venue

Don't get lost. Click the button below to get directions to the venue

Get Directions

ABOUT eThekwini Municipality

EThekwini Municipality is a Category A municipality found in the South African province of KwaZulu-Natal. The area is topographically hilly, with many gorges and ravines, and almost no true coastal plain. Durban has a turbulent history dating from ivory hunters in the 1820s and their conflict with the local Zulu monarchs. 

The province has the largest number of battlefields. The world-class Durban Chief Albert Luthuli International Convention Centre (ICC) has hosted a historic line-up of events including conferences of a global scale.  

eThekwini is the largest City in this province and the third largest city in the country.

It is a sophisticated cosmopolitan city of over 3 442 398 people (as per 2011 Census). It is known as the home of Africa's best-managed, busiest port and is also a major centre of tourism because of the city's warm subtropical climate and extensive beaches. ​​ Its land area of 2,297 square km is comparatively larger than other South African cities. Durban Tourism is the leading domestic destination in South Africa. The estimated visitor numbers for the financial year 2010/11 is 9.95 million. 

International visitors increased by 2.92 % to 669 585 for the year. This is partly to due to the 2010 World Cup, as Durban was one of the host cities. The value of our domestic tourism economic impact on the region’s GDP is estimated to be 8. % per annum. Hotel occupancy in Durban for the year averaged 65.17% which is better than the national average. 
Hospitality industry consists of many fine hotels, nightspots, shopping malls, ethnic attractions, traditional villages, craft markets, sparkling dams and big-game parks, such as, Mitchell Park where 100 year old Admiral tortoise is kept.  
Our Vision
By 2030 eThekwini Municipality will enjoy the reputation of being Africa’s most caring and liveable City, where all citizens live in harmony.    
Our core values
Sustainability
Economically successful city
Caring city
Smart city
Poverty reduction and Democratic & Equal city


The City of Durban

Mr Sipho Nzuza

City Manager

Mr Sipho Cele

Deputy City Manager Governance

Dr Mpilo Ngubane

Head..eThekwini municipal Academy

ICPP 1 Publications

Media Publication
Media Publication
Media Publication
Book Cover
Book Content Page
Book Content Page & Introduction Page
Book Introduction Page